Bottomless

I struggle to hold myself back sometimes;

to restrain my mind from flooding the paper.

If I write a lot, I’m afraid my poetry would run dry.

What then would comfort me in my retirement years?

I must not spend my words so- like heedless youth spent.

So I hoard my poetry and thoughts

like I used to hoard fossils of dried leaves

or broken pieces of coloured bangles.

But nothing I grab hold of plugs my urge

and I write as if from a bottomless well,

shamelessly drilling deeper and deeper.

-Roslin Steeple

6 Replies to “Bottomless”

    1. I am glad you like my poems so much. The biggest compliment is definitely that they evoke feelings of their own. Yes, I mostly draw from life experience and I try to be hopeful, but God knows that it’s tough on some days. Nonetheless, we all carry on!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

